
  
  Rev. 10/26/2012 
 

STATE OF NEVADA 
 

 

 
 

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS’ BOARD OF NEVADA 
4600 Kietzke Lane, M-245 - Reno, Nevada  89502 

 Telephone:   775-688-1921          Email: chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 The following information is to assist you in determining if you meet the criteria for Nevada DC 
licensure and should send for the application package.  There is a $25.00 fee for the application package which 
includes a book of the Nevada laws. 
 
Educational Requirements: 

• High school graduate or G.E.D. equivalency 
• Minimum of 60 credit hours at an accredited pre-chiropractic college or university  OR  not less than 

five (5) years of licensed active practice in another state 
• Graduation with a Doctor of Chiropractic degree from a college of chiropractic which, on applicant’s 

graduation date, is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education or which has a reciprocal 
agreement with the CCE or any governmental accrediting agency.   
 

Application Documentation Requirements (all due on or before application deadline): 
• Completed application form with all questions answered and 2x2 passport type photograph  
• Certified check or money order for $248.50 ($200.00 application fee/$48.50 fingerprint card processing 

fee) OR by credit card (call board office 775-688-1921 for this transaction) 
• Two (2) completed fingerprint cards (provided with application package) 
• Completed Authorization to Release Information form (provided with application package) 
• Three (3) Certificate of Moral Character references (provided with application package) 
• Evidence of high school graduation: 

o Photocopy of high school diploma or G.E.D. certificate  OR  
o High school grade transcript  

• Photocopy of DC degree (Graduation date on DC degree must be on or before application deadline 
date of exam for which applicant is applying – no exceptions) 

• Certification of Good Standing form(s) issued from the chiropractic licensing board of all states in 
which applicant has ever been licensed (form provided with application package) 

• Photocopies of all licenses issued by other state chiropractic licensing boards 
• (*)Certified grade transcript(s) of minimum 60 credit hours from accredited pre-chiropractic college or 

university    OR  
(*)written certification verifying at least five (5) years of licensed active practice from a state 

licensing board 
• (*)Certified final grade transcript with not less than 4,000 hours of credit (must include a course in 

Physiotherapy) from an accredited college of chiropractic  
• (*)Certified grade transcript from National Board of Chiropractic Examiners with passing grades (375 

or higher) in Parts I, II, III, IV and Physiotherapy  OR  (in lieu of any or all parts of National 
Boards):  

o (*) Written certification from another state of active licensed practice for not fewer than seven 
(7) of the immediately preceding ten (10) years with no adverse disciplinary action   and  

o (*) Certified grade transcript from National Board of Chiropractic Examiners with passing 
grade (375 or higher) in Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC).   (Note:  
Applicants who have not previously attained a passing score in the SPEC must have an 
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application on file for the next Nevada examination in order to be authorized by Nevada to take 
the SPEC test. Contact the National Board at (970) 356-9100 for SPEC information. ) 

 
(*) Must be received direct from issuing institutions 
 

                                                   
 

General Application Information: 
• All applicants will be examined in a written Nevada law test.  Passing score is 75% or higher.   
• Application forms must be submitted with all questions answered completely and truthfully. 
• Applications must be received in the Board’s office 60 days in advance of the test date. 
• An application remains open for one year after the date of the first examination that the applicant is 

eligible to take.  If the applicant does not pass the examination on the first attempt he or she may retake 
the examination one time without paying an additional fee. 

• Nevada has no reciprocity with other states and there is no provision in the law for consideration of 
length of practice in another state except as set forth above. 

• An arrest record, conviction of a crime or disciplinary action taken against one’s license by another state 
does not preclude acceptance of an applicant.  However, if additional information or further inquiry is 
deemed necessary there may be a delay in acceptance of the applicant.  The Board may reject any 
application based on assessment of the applicant’s moral character. 

 
Scope of Practice:  The following statute, NRS 634.013 “Chiropractic” defined, is the Nevada scope 
of practice:  “Chiropractic is defined to be the science, art and practice of palpating and adjusting the 
articulations of the human body by hand, the use of physiotherapy, hygienic, nutritive and sanitary measures 
and all methods of diagnosis.” 

• Nevada licensed chiropractors may not perform surgery or dispense or prescribe drugs.  
• Nevada licensed chiropractors may not puncture the skin except for diagnostic purposes.  Any person 

who wishes to perform acupuncture must apply for licensure with the Nevada State Board of 
Oriental Medicine. 
 

Fee Schedule: Application for licensure   $200.00 
  Fingerprint card processing       48.50 
   Total     $248.50 
 
  Examination fee (due upon completion 
   of application)    $125.00 
 
  Issuance of license to practice   $225.00 
 
  Biennial Renewal - ACTIVE PRACTICE $700.00 
  Biennial Renewal – INACTIVE PRACTICE $250.00 

 
Examinations:  Administered monthly on the second Wednesday of each month in Reno, Nevada.  Following is 
the examination schedule for the remainder of 2012 and the 2013 schedule through September: 
 

2012:                 2013:  
October 10   January 9  April 10  July 10 
November 14   February 13  May 8   August 14 
December 12   March 13  June 12   September 11 

      
 The application deadline is established under NRS 634.080(1):  “An applicant for examination must file 
an application not less than 60 days before the date of the examination.”  An application is not complete until 
the fee and all of the supporting documents are received.   
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 A background check will be conducted and applicant’s fingerprint checks must clear.  Applicants 
will not be approved to sit for the examination until the background check has been concluded.  This 
could result in a delay and may cause the applicant to be rescheduled for the next examination. 
 
 Upon completion and approval of an applicant’s file, he or she will receive written notification with a 
request for payment of the $125.00 examination fee which may be paid by certified check, money order or credit 
card.  Applicant will receive written notification of the time and location of the examination when payment of 
the examination fee has been received.  Unapproved applicants will receive written notification of the reason for 
the rejection. 
 
 If you feel that you meet all of the requirements and wish to apply, complete the following 
REQUEST FOR APPLICATION form and mail it to this office with a check for $25.00. 



D.C. Degree is from: Chiropractic College.

Graduation Date:

I am licensed in the following State/States:

I have been in active practice in (State/States): years

years

years

Part I Physiotherapy

Part II SPEC 

Part III 

Part IV

Rev. 10/26/12

4600 KIETZKE LANE, SUITE #M-245
RENO, NV  89502

NAME:                                                                                                                                  EMAIL:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:

Please indicate YES or NO for each of the following - I have passed the following tests 
of the National Board:

ENCLOSED IS MY CHECK FOR $25.00 - PAYABLE TO:

                                                for:

                                                for:

                                                for:

REQUEST FOR APPLICATION PACKAGE
Please send an Application for Licensure as a Doctor of Chiropractic in the State of Nevada to:

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS' BOARD OF NEVADA

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS’ BOARD OF NEVADA

STATE OF NEVADA




