STATE OF NEVADA



CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS' BOARD OF NEVADA

4600 Kietzke Lane, M-245 - Reno, Nevada 89502 Telephone: 775-688-1921 Email: chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov

The following information is to assist you in determining if you meet the criteria for Nevada DC licensure and should send for the application package. There is a \$25.00 fee for the application package which includes a book of the Nevada laws.

Educational Requirements:

- High school graduate or G.E.D. equivalency
- Minimum of 60 credit hours at an accredited pre-chiropractic college or university **OR** not less than five (5) years of licensed active practice in another state
- Graduation with a Doctor of Chiropractic degree from a college of chiropractic which, on applicant's graduation date, is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education or which has a reciprocal agreement with the CCE or any governmental accrediting agency.

Application Documentation Requirements (all due on or before application deadline):

- Completed application form with all questions answered and 2x2 passport type photograph
- Certified check or money order for \$248.50 (\$200.00 application fee/\$48.50 fingerprint card processing fee) **OR** by credit card (call board office 775-688-1921 for this transaction)
- Two (2) completed fingerprint cards (provided with application package)
- Completed Authorization to Release Information form (provided with application package)
- Three (3) Certificate of Moral Character references (provided with application package)
- Evidence of high school graduation:
 - o Photocopy of high school diploma or G.E.D. certificate **OR**
 - o High school grade transcript
- Photocopy of DC degree (**Graduation date on DC degree must be on or before application deadline** date of exam for which applicant is applying no exceptions)
- Certification of Good Standing form(s) issued from the chiropractic licensing board of all states in which applicant has ever been licensed (form provided with application package)
- Photocopies of all licenses issued by other state chiropractic licensing boards
- (*)Certified grade transcript(s) of minimum 60 credit hours from accredited pre-chiropractic college or university **OR**
 - (*)written certification verifying at least five (5) years of licensed active practice from a state licensing board
- (*)Certified final grade transcript with not less than 4,000 hours of credit (must include a course in Physiotherapy) from an accredited college of chiropractic
- (*)Certified grade transcript from National Board of Chiropractic Examiners with passing grades (375 or higher) in Parts I, II, III, IV and Physiotherapy OR (in lieu of any or all parts of National Boards):
 - o (*) Written certification from another state of active licensed practice for not fewer than seven (7) of the immediately preceding ten (10) years with no adverse disciplinary action **and**
 - o (*) Certified grade transcript from National Board of Chiropractic Examiners with passing grade (375 or higher) in Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC). (Note: Applicants who have not previously attained a passing score in the SPEC must have an

(*) Must be received direct from issuing institutions

General Application Information:

2012.

- All applicants will be examined in a written Nevada law test. Passing score is **75% or higher**.
- Application forms must be submitted with all questions answered completely and truthfully.
- Applications must be received in the Board's office 60 days in advance of the test date.
- An application remains open for one year after the date of the first examination that the applicant is eligible to take. If the applicant does not pass the examination on the first attempt he or she may retake the examination one time without paying an additional fee.
- Nevada has **no reciprocity** with other states and there is no provision in the law for consideration of length of practice in another state except as set forth above.
- An arrest record, conviction of a crime or disciplinary action taken against one's license by another state does not preclude acceptance of an applicant. However, if additional information or further inquiry is deemed necessary there may be a delay in acceptance of the applicant. The Board may reject any application based on assessment of the applicant's moral character.

Scope of Practice: The following statute, NRS 634.013 "Chiropractic" defined, is the Nevada scope of practice: "Chiropractic is defined to be the science, art and practice of palpating and adjusting the articulations of the human body by hand, the use of physiotherapy, hygienic, nutritive and sanitary measures and all methods of diagnosis."

- Nevada licensed chiropractors <u>may not</u> perform surgery or dispense or prescribe drugs.
- Nevada licensed chiropractors <u>may not</u> puncture the skin except for diagnostic purposes. Any person who wishes to perform acupuncture must apply for licensure with the **Nevada State Board of Oriental Medicine.**

Fee Schedule:	Application for licensure Fingerprint card processing Total	\$200.00 <u>48.50</u> \$248.50
	Examination fee (due upon completion of application)	\$125.00
	Issuance of license to practice	\$225.00
	Biennial Renewal - ACTIVE PRACTICE Biennial Renewal – INACTIVE PRACTICE	\$700.00 \$250.00

<u>Examinations</u>: Administered monthly on the second Wednesday of each month in Reno, Nevada. Following is the examination schedule for the remainder of 2012 and the 2013 schedule through September:

<u> 2012</u> :	<u> 2015</u> :		
October 10	January 9	April 10	July 10
November 14	February 13	May 8	August 14
December 12	March 13	June 12	September 11

2012.

The application deadline is established under NRS 634.080(1): "An applicant for examination must file an application not less than 60 days before the date of the examination." An application is <u>not complete</u> until the fee and <u>all</u> of the supporting documents are received.

A background check will be conducted and applicant's fingerprint checks must clear. <u>Applicants will not be approved to sit for the examination until the background check has been concluded</u>. This could result in a delay and may cause the applicant to be rescheduled for the next examination.

Upon completion and approval of an applicant's file, he or she will receive written notification with a request for payment of the \$125.00 examination fee which may be paid by certified check, money order or credit card. Applicant will receive written notification of the time and location of the examination when payment of the examination fee has been received. Unapproved applicants will receive written notification of the reason for the rejection.

If you feel that you meet all of the requirements and wish to apply, complete the following REQUEST FOR APPLICATION form and mail it to this office with a check for \$25.00.

Rev. 10/26/2012

STATE OF NEVADA



CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS' BOARD OF NEVADA

REQUEST FOR APPLICATION PACKAGE

NAME:	EMAIL:		
MAILING ADDRESS:			
CITY:	STATE:	ZIP:	
D.C. Degree is from:		_Chiropractic Coll	ege.
Graduation Date:		_	
I am licensed in the following State/States:			
I have been in active practice in (State/States):		for:	years
		for:	years
<u> </u>		for:	years
Please indicate <u>YES or NO</u> for each of the follow of the National Board:	ring - I have passed t		
Part I	Physiotherapy		
Part II	SPEC		
Part III			

ENCLOSED IS MY CHECK FOR \$25.00 - PAYABLE TO:

CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS' BOARD OF NEVADA 4600 KIETZKE LANE, SUITE #M-245 RENO, NV 89502